For the first time since she was raised from the Solent in 1982, visitors will also be able to share the same space as the Mary Rose, entering the upper deck through an air lock, allowing visitors to experience the full splendour and magnitude of the Mary Rose.
OAG faced a challenge to design a solution for the glazing to meet the architect’s design intent of full height glass screens spanning across the varying height floor plates, with bays formed of minimalistic framework and glass to glass joints with a continuous hand rail.
The screens were formed using single glazing with laminated and toughened glass with an anti-reflective coating to the internal face. Bespoke aluminium spandrel panels accommodate lighting and air vents which will control the atmosphere in which the Mary Rose remains are housed. The top level is open with cantilevered glass balustrade and handrail.
The installation works were required to be carried out whilst maintaining the air lock in the temporary structure, acting as a bubble or “Hot Box” around the exhibit. The glass screens would then act as a barrier air seal once the temporary skin is removed. Logistics were carefully planned in order to gain access to the different levels with large glass panels.
The Mary Rose was Henry VIII’s favourite warship which sunk in the Battle of the Solent in 1545. Raised in 1982, she is the only 16th century warship on display anywhere in the world. Alongside her amazing collection of over 19,000 artefacts, the Mary Rose provides a unique insight into Tudor life over 500 years ago.
The Mary Rose museum, which contains the hull and many thousands of artefacts on public display, opened at the end of May 2013, winning Project of the Year in Building Magazine in 2014. The conservation of the ship has continued since 1982 and has now reached a stable state in her controlled air drying phase.